FCMS – 8th Grade Awards Night

Fannin Middle

Please find below all the students that were honored on 8th Grade Awards Night.  The group photo includes everyone honored.

Students of the Year:  Sawyer Moreland and Sydney McGill. 


8A Jimmy Williams

8B Derrick Jones


Advanced Reading

8A Leah Pope

8B Rachel Bruce

Language Arts

8A Jimmy Williams

8B  Anthony Sabia

Advanced Language Arts

8A Reagan York    

8B Sydney McGill


8A Kalliee Stanley

8B Graycee Mintz

Advanced Math

8A Sawyer Moreland

8B Kiersten Holloway


8A  Dylan Collins

8B Lexy Long

Advanced Science

8A James Squires

8B Ashlyn Burger

Georgia Studies

8A Sawyer Moreland

8B A.J. Covey


Visual Arts:  

Sydney McGill

Introduction to Digital Technology:  

Will Watkins

Career Education:

A.J. Covey

Physical Education:

Boy: Levi Pierce

Girl:  Erin Gonzales


Sydney McGill


Rob Russell


Caitlin Raper


Spelling Bee

8A Reagan York

8B Chloe Carter

Perfect Attendance


Aubree Beavers
Ashlyn Burger
Xavier Crowley
Jackson Davis
Toby Davis
Cater Johnson
Juston ‘JT’ McDaniel
Emily Mealer
Garret Mervine
Jacob Queen
Christalee Rios-Espinoza
Max Roberson


Luke Baggett
Logan Carroll
Aaliyah Green
Kirsten Holloway
Annabel Lillard
Aerial McKinney
Hayden Rose
Kinsley Sullivan
Nathan Thomas

Daughters of the American Revolution Essay Winner:   

Each year Fannin County Middle School participates in the Old Unicoi Trail National Society  of the Daughters of the American Revolution Essay Contest. This year the topic was World War I and its effect on our nation. Over three hundred students competed in the essay competition and from those the overall winner of her age group is

Leah Pope

REACH Scholars:

REACH Georgia’s mission is to ensure that Georgia’s academically promising students have the academic, social, and financial support needed to graduate from high school, access college, and achieve postsecondary success.  REACH Scholars are selected in middle school and sign a contract along with their parents to maintain grades, remain crime, drug, and behavior issue free, and meet with a volunteer mentor and academic coach until they graduate from high school. To be awarded their $10,000 scholarship, each Scholar must continue to meet program requirements until high school graduation.

Our 2017 – 2018 FCMS REACH Scholars are

Ricardo Arellanes

Aubree Beavers

Hunter DeMar

Aaliyah Green

Kaigan Mull

Principal’s List: Students must have all grades above a 93 for a grading period to receive the Principal’s List Award.

Ricardo Arellanes Alvarado Ryanne Jay Newman
Aubree Jade Beavers Daisy Elizabeth Oliver
Jolie Danielle Breeden Leah McKenzie Pope
Rachel Reagan Bruce Raven Lynn Porter
Ashlyn Skye Burger Amber Elizabeth Quinton
Chloe Alayna-Erin Carter Jacob Avery Raines
Alyson Renea Chastain Samantha Morgan Sadler
Anthony James Covey Hallie Elizabeth Shuler
Hunter Scott DeMar James  Squires
Erin Julianna Gonzales Kinsley Ellington Sullivan
Kirsten Summer Holloway Emily Noel Turner
Cater Andrew Johnson Drake Benton Usry
Jacob Daniel Kuna Kaitlyn Dawn White
Annabel Lee Lillard Reagan McKenzie York
Sydney Grace McGill Jenna Rae Young
Sawyer Aaron Moreland Kathryn Grace Young

Presidential Awards

The following students have qualified for a Silver Presidential Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement Award for either making

  1. Straight A’s for 6th and 7th grades and through the fall semester of 8th grade OR
  2. For exceeding on state tests for either 6th or 7th grades.  The students who receive this award only have to meet one criterion.

The following students qualify for an Outstanding Academic Achievement Award:

Cater Andrew Johnson
Ethan Richard Jones
Ryanne Jay Newman
Samantha Morgan Sadler

Students receiving the Gold  Presidential Awards for Outstanding Academic Excellence are required to meet the following highly rigorous criteria:

  1. GPA in all subject areas must be 90-100 in 6th & 7th grade school years and fall semester of 8thgrade AND
  2. High Achievement in reading or math on state test for the 6th and 7th grade. The students who receive this award have to meet both of the rigorous criteria.

The following students qualify for the Presidential Award for Outstanding Academic Excellence:

Ricardo Arellanes Alvardo

Rachel Reagan  Bruce

Ashlyn Skye Burger

Kirsten Summer Holloway

Sydney Grace McGill

Ann Higdon Math Award – Is awarded annually to the student with the highest score on the Georgia Milestones exam. It is awarded annually in memory of FCMS math teacher Ann Higdon. This award will be presented when the Milestones results are returned from the state.

Citizenship Awards

8A     Adaelyn Ray & Jackson Davis

8B     Carly Cox & Kaleb Couch

Students of the Month 8A

August – Leah Pope & Seth Reece

September – Cassidy Culpepper & Sawyer Moreland

October – Ashlyn Burger & Ricardo Arellanes

November – Raven Porter & Cater Johnson

December – Adaelyn Ray & Jackson Davis

January – Aubree Beavers & Corbin Head

February – Emily Turner & Noah Hess

March – Reagan York & Toby Davis

April – Becca Ledford & Coy Mealer

May – Erin Gonzales & Hunter DeMar

Student of the Year for 8A

Sawyer Moreland

Students of the Month 8B

August – Annabel Lillard & A.J. Covey

September –Sydney McGill & Trey Riccitiello

October – Kirsten Holloway & Christopher Gaitanoglou

November – Rachel Bruce & James Squires

December – Kathryn Young & Hunter Ramey

January – Carly Cox & Giovanni Leal

February – Aaliyah Green & Scott Pulliam

March – Kaylie Kendall & Kaleb Couch

April – Aly Chastain & Tripp Hill

May – Lexi Long & Carter Mann

Student of the Year for 8B

Sydney McGill


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

FetchYourNews.com - Dedicated to serve the needs of the community. Provide a source of real news-Dependable Information-Central to the growth and success of our Communities. Strive to encourage, uplift, warn, entertain, & enlighten our readers/viewers- Honest-Reliable-Informative.

News - Videos - TV - Marketing - Website Design - Commercial Production - Consultation


FetchYourNews.com - Citizen Journalists - A place to share “Your” work. Send us “Your” information or tips - 706.276.NEWs (6397) 706.889.9700 chief@FetchYourNews.com

Back to Top